Thursday, June 5, 2008

Fresno State Dream Team: Kickers

Who are the best kickers in school history? Let's find out. Each Bulldog Bounce blogger has turned in his own votes for each position already, but we want to hear what you -- the readers -- think. Then, at the end of all the voting we'll compare our results to yours.

We're going position-by-position with the idea of starting healthy debate about why so-and-so is better than such-and-such? YOU decide the criteria! What's more important? College stats or pro? Four-year starters or JC transfers? Single-season greatness or consistency?

Next up is kicker, and the nominees are:
--Asen Asparuhov
--Barry Belli
--Scott Darrow
--Jeff Hanna
--Steve Loop
--Johan Lyssand
--Derek Mahoney
--Clint Stitser
--Armen Torigian
--Brett Visintainer

For the first time ever, The Bulldog Bounce voting resulted in a tie between Barry Belli and Derek Mahoney as the two best kickers in Fresno State history. Belli had two first-team votes, while Mahoney had one first-team and two second-team votes. Asen Asparuhov and Brett Visintainer were the only other vote-getters. Visintainer had a first-team vote and Asparuhov two second-team votes.

Have fun, voice your opinion and let the voting begin! The nominees will remain posted in the right-hand column for you to choose from, but please add comments to this blog entry as well.


  1. What the heck!? Who voted for Stitser...?

    I said who's the school's BEST kicker, not smartest kicker!

  2. If you didn't want us to vote for him, why is Stitser even an option. YOU made the poll, smartass!

  3. Hey, I'm not trying to choose who you vote for, I'm putting the nominees who make sense (Stitser would probably be one of the top 10-11 kickers ever) but that doesn't mean his first.

    My personal opinion is also that it's ridiculous people are voting for Petrucci. Yes, he has his number retired for some reason, but have you looked up the career numbers...?

  4. Belli. Sweeney would set up field goals. And Belli consistently connected for 3.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.